Lampwrights Forum

Lampwrights Forum (http://www.lampwrights.com/index.php)
-   Pertaining to SPAM (http://www.lampwrights.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Checking IP's against spammer database (http://www.lampwrights.com/showthread.php?t=22)

Jeff 07-30-2010 12:27 PM

Checking IP's against spammer database
 
There is a good free RBL that checks users against a database of known forum spammers. You can check a users IP against it before allowing them to do anything on your site. Here is some example PHP code:

Code:

function blacklisted($ip)
{
    $dnsbl_check=array("dnsbl.tornevall.org");

    if($ip){
        $rip=implode('.',array_reverse(explode(".",$ip)));
        foreach($dnsbl_check as $val){
            if(checkdnsrr($rip.'.'.$val.'.','A'))
                return $rip.'.'.$val;
        }
    }

    return false;
}

Basically just pass the IP to this function and if it comes back as true, then the IP is listed.

Enjoy!

thisbuzz 01-21-2011 01:07 PM

Hi Jeff .. where should we place this code, please?

In which file

Thanks

G

Jeff 01-21-2011 01:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thisbuzz (Post 94)
Hi Jeff .. where should we place this code, please?

In which file

Thanks

G

It depends on your code.

thisbuzz 01-21-2011 01:36 PM

OK maybe I am not understanding how this works :)

the above code which starts with

function blacklisted

I thought that the code would check with the SPAM IP site?

so I was wondering where the code would be placed

my apologies in advance if I have the wrong end of the stick

Thanks

G

Jeff 01-21-2011 01:40 PM

If you have some PHP code, and you want to check to see if an IP address is of a known spammer, put the function in the first post of this thread into your PHP script. WHERE exactly I cannot tell you as that is different in every script.

Then you just pass the IP to the function and it will tell you true or false:

Code:

if (blacklisted('123.123.111.123'))
{
## This IP is blacklisted!
}

If you think you can just plug this into any script without any programming knowledge, then I would say no. You have to have some understanding how the code is working. This is a generic function, not a specific one for a particular program.

kpmedia 01-21-2011 01:57 PM

There's a plugin for this: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=176481
Works quite well. :)

thisbuzz 01-22-2011 03:19 AM

Thanks Jeff


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.