Lampwrights Forum > Other Stuff > vBulletin Wordpress Bridge

Reply
 
Thread Tools
02-05-2011, 09:50 AM   #21
Jeff
Administrator
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 402
Rep Power: 10
Jeff is getting browny points
Quote:
Originally Posted by freak99 View Post
I was thinking about this one. Obviously, it's possible to disable guest comments in the WP settings, so you would just need to replace the link in:

"You must log in to post a comment."

... to redirect to the vb login page instead of the WP login page.
It is the wordpress login form, but it does connect to the VB database and validate the user when logging into anything else by WP admin.
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote

02-05-2011, 09:55 AM   #22
Jeff
Administrator
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 402
Rep Power: 10
Jeff is getting browny points
Quote:
Originally Posted by freak99 View Post
I don't mean to bombard your thread, but I wanted to point out one more issue that you may or may not be aware of. I use third party desktop software (Windows Live Writer on windows and ecto on Mac) to post to my blog. I noticed this evening that I'm not able to log in using these types of programs with your plugin enabled.

Thanks
Hmm, I never use those products but I am imagining this MIGHT work:

Open vbbridge.php and find this line:

Code:
if ( !preg_match('#wp-admin#', $_POST['redirect_to']) and !defined('WP_ADMIN') ):
Change to:

Code:
if ( !preg_match('#wp-admin#', $_POST['redirect_to']) and !defined('WP_ADMIN') or defined('XMLRPC_REQUEST')):
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
02-06-2011, 03:21 AM   #23
freak99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 20
Rep Power: 0
freak99 is getting browny points
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff View Post
It is the wordpress login form, but it does connect to the VB database and validate the user when logging into anything else by WP admin.
Wow, I didn't realize users could log in through the WP log in form. Thanks.
freak99 is offline   Reply With Quote
02-06-2011, 03:22 AM   #24
freak99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 20
Rep Power: 0
freak99 is getting browny points
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff View Post
Hmm, I never use those products but I am imagining this MIGHT work:

Open vbbridge.php and find this line:

Code:
if ( !preg_match('#wp-admin#', $_POST['redirect_to']) and !defined('WP_ADMIN') ):
Change to:

Code:
if ( !preg_match('#wp-admin#', $_POST['redirect_to']) and !defined('WP_ADMIN') or defined('XMLRPC_REQUEST')):
No luck. It gives me an error stating that my user name or password is invalid.
freak99 is offline   Reply With Quote
02-06-2011, 05:47 AM   #25
freak99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 20
Rep Power: 0
freak99 is getting browny points
Jeff, I'd like to implement forum avatars in the comments. I think I have a general idea how to do this, however, any chance you tell me what code I would need (and where) to pull the avatarrevision from the user table by userid?

The mysql query would look something like this:

"SELECT avatarrevision FROM `user` WHERE `userid`= $userid";

Based on that, I think I could construct the avatar link based on an path of:

/forum/customavatars/avatar".$userid."_".$customavatar.".gif

Thanks for your work. I really appreciate what you've done with this mod.
freak99 is offline   Reply With Quote
02-06-2011, 06:30 PM   #26
Jeff
Administrator
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 402
Rep Power: 10
Jeff is getting browny points
Quote:
Originally Posted by freak99 View Post
Jeff, I'd like to implement forum avatars in the comments. I think I have a general idea how to do this, however, any chance you tell me what code I would need (and where) to pull the avatarrevision from the user table by userid?

The mysql query would look something like this:

"SELECT avatarrevision FROM `user` WHERE `userid`= $userid";

Based on that, I think I could construct the avatar link based on an path of:

/forum/customavatars/avatar".$userid."_".$customavatar.".gif

Thanks for your work. I really appreciate what you've done with this mod.
Is not avatarrevision stored in $vb->userinfo ? i.e. $vb->userinfo['avatarrevision ']?
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
02-06-2011, 06:31 PM   #27
Jeff
Administrator
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 402
Rep Power: 10
Jeff is getting browny points
Hmm scratch that, that won't help. You should be able to use the function fetch_userinfo($userid) though..
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
02-06-2011, 07:49 PM   #28
freak99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 20
Rep Power: 0
freak99 is getting browny points
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff View Post
Is not avatarrevision stored in $vb->userinfo ? i.e. $vb->userinfo['avatarrevision ']?
I tried that, but it pulls the avatarrevision for the user who is logged in.
freak99 is offline   Reply With Quote
02-06-2011, 07:53 PM   #29
freak99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 20
Rep Power: 0
freak99 is getting browny points
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff View Post
Hmm scratch that, that won't help. You should be able to use the function fetch_userinfo($userid) though..
Any hint on how I might implement it? I'm unsure of how that would work exactly?
freak99 is offline   Reply With Quote
02-07-2011, 12:54 AM   #30
freak99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 20
Rep Power: 0
freak99 is getting browny points
Quote:
Originally Posted by freak99 View Post
Any hint on how I might implement it? I'm unsure of how that would work exactly?
I finally figured in out. For those that might be interested:

Code:
$avrevision = $vb->db->query_first("SELECT avatarrevision FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "user WHERE userid = '" . $vuser['userid'] . "'");
freak99 is offline   Reply With Quote
02-07-2011, 06:06 PM   #31
freak99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 20
Rep Power: 0
freak99 is getting browny points
Jeff, did something change since the last version? I'm not able to login with a vb user name and password via the wordpress login screen, but I know I was able to at one point. I went back and re-uploaded your original files, to make sure it wasn't something I did, but that didn't help.
freak99 is offline   Reply With Quote
02-08-2011, 09:17 AM   #32
Jeff
Administrator
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 402
Rep Power: 10
Jeff is getting browny points
Quote:
Originally Posted by freak99 View Post
Jeff, did something change since the last version? I'm not able to login with a vb user name and password via the wordpress login screen, but I know I was able to at one point. I went back and re-uploaded your original files, to make sure it wasn't something I did, but that didn't help.
You cannot login into the WP Admin area with your VB login.
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
02-08-2011, 06:10 PM   #33
freak99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 20
Rep Power: 0
freak99 is getting browny points
I found the issue. It seems the user names are case sensitive when logging in via the wp log in screen. When logging in to the forum directly, the user names are not case sensitive.

Last edited by freak99; 02-08-2011 at 06:15 PM.
freak99 is offline   Reply With Quote
02-08-2011, 06:21 PM   #34
freak99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 20
Rep Power: 0
freak99 is getting browny points
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff View Post
Hmm, I never use those products but I am imagining this MIGHT work:

Open vbbridge.php and find this line:

Code:
if ( !preg_match('#wp-admin#', $_POST['redirect_to']) and !defined('WP_ADMIN') ):
Change to:

Code:
if ( !preg_match('#wp-admin#', $_POST['redirect_to']) and !defined('WP_ADMIN') or defined('XMLRPC_REQUEST')):
Jeff, the above code didn't work, but this seems to.

Code:
if (( !preg_match('#wp-admin#', $_POST['redirect_to']) and !defined('WP_ADMIN')) and !defined('XMLRPC_REQUEST')):
Look ok to you?
freak99 is offline   Reply With Quote
02-08-2011, 06:40 PM   #35
Jeff
Administrator
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 402
Rep Power: 10
Jeff is getting browny points
Quote:
Originally Posted by freak99 View Post
Jeff, the above code didn't work, but this seems to.

Code:
if (( !preg_match('#wp-admin#', $_POST['redirect_to']) and !defined('WP_ADMIN')) and !defined('XMLRPC_REQUEST')):
Look ok to you?
Yes actually that makes more sense. I thought I negated that part about the XMLRPC_REQUEST. Yes, that should work.
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
02-08-2011, 07:15 PM   #36
Jeff
Administrator
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 402
Rep Power: 10
Jeff is getting browny points
I have put that in the pipeline for the next version.
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags

vbulletin integration

,

vbulletin wordpress bridge


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.